College of Economics, Management, and Development Studies


The College of Economics, Management and Development Studies started its existence as a college in 1998 by virtue of Republic Act 8468 converting the Don Severino Agricultural College to Cavite State University.

The CEMDS has its humble beginning as one of the departments (Department of Social Sciences) under the Office of Higher Education (OHE) of the then Don Severino Agricultural College.  In the early 1980’s the Department of Social Sciences was replaced by two departments namely; Department of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness (DAEAb) and the Department of Rural Development Studies (DRDS) still under the Office of Higher Education.  However, with the creation of four schools under the Don Severino Agricultural College in 1992 namely; the School of Agriculture, School of Education, School of Arts and Sciences and School of Engineering, the office of Higher Education was finally dissolved and the two departments, DAEAb and DRDS were placed under the School of Agriculture.

On June 10, 1996, through the Board of Trustees Resolution No. 57 series of 1996, the organization structure of DSAC was amended in preparation for its conversion into a University. The School of Agriculture was expanded and renamed School of Agriculture, Forestry, Environment and   Natural Resources (SAFENR). With this development, tow of its several departments (DAEAb and DRDS) were treated as one department and renamed as the Department of  Economics, Management and  Development Studies (DEMDS) which was later subdivided into three major units, that is, Economics, Management, and Development Studies.  For several years, the DEMDS was one of the five departments which composed the SAFENR.

On January 22, 1998 by virtue of Republic Act 8468, the Don Severino Agricultural College was converted into a state university and named Cavite State University (CvSU).  With this important development, the four existing schools were elevated into colleges. At the same time, the College of Sports, Physical Education and Recreation was created while the Department of Economics, Management and Development Studies was elevated into a college, now known as the College of Economics, Management and Development Studies.

      Initially, the CEMDS has three departments under its supervision, the Department of Economics, Department of Management and Department of Development Studies. In 2008, CEMDS had an additional department with the creation of the Department of Accountancy with the Bachelor of Science in Accountancy as its initial program offering. Various programs, both graduate and undergraduate, are being offered by the College.  Currently these are:  Bachelor of Science in Accountancy, Bachelor of Science in Business Management, Bachelor of Science in Economics, Bachelor of Science in Development Management, Bachelor of Science in International Studies, Mater in Business Administration, Master of Professional Studies and Master of Management.

      CEMDS, now composed of four departments, is continuously strengthening its capability to provide quality service to its clients particularly in the fields of Accountancy, Economics, Management and Development Studies.  Like other colleges and units of the University, it works very hard for the attainment of its goals and objectives and consequently, the University mission and vision.



Opportunities @ CvSU

Who's Online

We have 57 guests and no members online

Like Us @

Copyright CvSU 2015. All rights reserved.
[Cavite State University | Indang, Cavite, Philippines]
[046-4150013 to 016]